New Travel Restrictions Announced for WA

Published on Friday, 27 March 2020 at 5:41:00 PM

The WA State Government earlier this afternoon announced new travel restrictions to come into effect from Tuesday night, 31 March 2020 (12.00am AWST Wednesday morning, 1 April 2020), to assist in reducing the spread of COVID-19.
Western Australian intrastate travel is defined as movement through the boundaries of the regions of Western Australia.
These regions are:
  • Perth and Peel (due to their close proximity, the Perth and Peel regions will combine into one region)
  • South West
  • Great Southern
  • Goldfields-Esperance
  • Mid-West
  • Wheatbelt (the region the Shire of Gingin is located in)
  • Gascoyne
  • Pilbara
  • Kimberley
Find your region here:
Western Australians will not be permitted to leave their regional boundary. Police have the power to enforce these restrictions and fines of up to $50,000 can be issued.
Exemptions will apply for:
  • Employment purposes
  • Medical reasons
  • Health and emergency services
  • People living in ‘border communities’ who may not have access to groceries or supplies within their region
  • Transport of essential goods
  • Compassionate grounds
Further information is available from the WA State Government's website -
Please note that the State Government has indicated on their website that "further details on how the restrictions will operate and application process for exemptions will be provided before the restrictions come into force."
The Shire recommends keeping an eye on their website (linked above) as many of the questions being asked of us are of similar content and can only be answered by the State Government. It is very likely the answers for most will be provided on their website on Monday or Tuesday before restrictions come into place. The WA Premier's Office can be contacted on (08) 6552 5000 if necessary. 
Please also note that we have updated the map on this post to the Wheatbelt map from the Wheatbelt Development Commission which has all the Shires in the Wheatbelt region included on it in addition to sub-regions. 

Back to All News