Shire of Gingin Welcomes New Councillors

Published on Wednesday, 25 October 2023 at 2:36:49 PM

Following the local government elections on Saturday 21 October, the Shire of Gingin welcomed newly elected Councillors who were officially sworn-in at a Special Council Meeting on Tuesday 24 October.

There were six vacancies at this year’s election, with results as follows:

  • New councillors – Lincoln Stewart, Jason Weeks, Nikki Woods
  • Re-elected councillors – Linda Balcombe, Wayne Fewster, Frank Peczka

The newly elected Councillors made their Declarations of Office before local Justice of the Peace, Margaret Greenwell at the meeting.

Councillor Andrea Vis was not re-elected to Council, and we extend our sincere thanks and best wishes to her for her service as both a Councillor and Deputy Shire President.

Councillor Kim Rule retired from Council and did not stand for re-election. We thank him for his service as Councillor and former Deputy Shire President, and wish him all the very best for the future.

In addition, the meeting called for the election of Shire President and Deputy Shire President which saw a change of leadership as follows:

  • Shire President – Wayne Fewster
  • Deputy Shire President – Linda Balcombe

 Congratulations to our six newly elected Councillors, Shire President, and Deputy Shire President.

- ENDS -

Newly elected Councillors L-R: Cr Wayne Fewster, Cr Linda Balcombe, Cr Nikki Woods, Cr Lincoln Stewart, Cr Jason Weeks, and Cr Frank Peczka. Re-elected Shire President Cr Wayne Fewster with newly elected Deputy Shire President Cr Linda Balcombe.

Shire of Gingin media contact:
Meredith Taylor
T: (08) 9575 5150

Back to All News